Asian Games 2018: PR Sreejesh To Lead 18-Member Squad


Goalkeeper PR Sreejesh was held chief of the India men’s hockey squad for the eighteenth Asian Games, booked to begin in Jakarta and Palembang from August 18. Hockey India on Monday named the 18-section squad for the opposition. Sreejesh, who was allowed the Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament at the Champions Trophy in Breda, has in fact been named as the head of the Indian gathering. At the Asian Games, India will ensure the title that they anchored in 2014 by squashing Pakistan in Incheon, Korea.

Midfielder Chinglensana Singh Kangujam has been named negative behavior pattern leader for the opposition and he will be joined by the achieved Sardar Singh, Manpreet Singh, Simranjeet Singh and Vivek Sagar Prasad in the midfield.

In India’s forward-line, Akashdeep Singh has made a bounce back in the squad while experienced SV Sunil, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay and Dilpreet Singh have held their places in the gathering.

Drag-glimmer Rupinder Pal Singh who was revived for the Champions Trophy has also been named in the squad to brace India’s opposition.

The backline which has the achieved Surender Kumar and Birendra Lakra will in like manner watch three other drag-glimmers Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar and Amit Rohidas.

Discussing the gathering creation, Chief Coach Harendra Singh expressed, “We have an amazing mix of players who have exhibited their abilities in the continuous rivalries. Notwithstanding the way that it is terrible we will leave behind an awesome open door for Ramandeep Singh’s understanding as he is represented out of the Asian Games in view of a progressing knee therapeutic technique he encountered.

“Nevertheless, it respects have Akashdeep Singh back in the mix. Both Rupinder and Akashdeep have remained in camp when the gathering was away in Breda and have had extraordinary match sharpen against Bangladesh over the earlier week and are raring to go.”

The 18-people who returned from Breda have joined the straggling leftovers of the middle get-together at ceaseless National Camp in Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru following a short five-sunrise.


Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh (captain), Krishan B Pathak;

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Amit Rohidas;

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (vice-captain); Simranjeet Singh, Sardar Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad;

Forwards: SV Sunil, Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here